Sympathy Card (CAS 164)

Sometimes, life is not about birthdays, babys and weddings, sometimes there are darker sides to it that have to be accepted never the less. So, unfortunatly this week is a time for a sympathy card.

I do like the tree as a symbol for the changing of times, the endurance of things and the start of something new as the seasons pass by. For that, the set "Sheltering Tree" is just perfect. I added the swing to indicate that someone is missing from the picture, unable to enjoy the up and down of swinging and life itself.

 

The white square measures 6,4x6,4 cm, I stamped the tree both on the square and on the card base. I intended to use a lighter grey for the background leafs and a darker one for the square, but somehow my Basic Grey comes out much lighter than Smoky Slate even though it looks darker on the outside. I have to look it up if that is intentional, or if my inkpad is not right somehow.

 

The text roughly translates as "With sympathy", it is very hard to translate it word by word though. "Beileid" means something like "suffering with someone". But it is a noun, so in this sense, it's something you give to the person who lost someone. "Herzlich" (more or less like "cordially") means "from the heart", the expression is used in many circumstances like "Herzlich Willkommen" (Heartfelt Welcome), or "Herzlichen Dank" (Heartfelt Thanks). All these expressions are set phrases however and their exact meaning is not that important. People don't think about it, I guess...

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 6
  • #1

    Jane (Dienstag, 15 März 2016 10:22)

    Such a beautiful and gentle sympathy card, love the greys. I too have great difficulty in spotting any difference in the SU grey ink pads. Thanks for joining in at CC&S.

  • #2

    karen h (Dienstag, 15 März 2016 23:12)

    What a beautiful card; and I love your explanation for the choices you made. Thanks for playing along with us at CC&S!

  • #3

    Liz Bailey (Freitag, 18 März 2016 12:22)

    This is a beautiful card Katharina. And I hate grey so you've done something pretty special to make a card that I love! Thanks for the interesting information on the sentiments. And thanks for joining us at CAS Colours & Sketches this week. Liz x

  • #4

    Patricia Hays (Samstag, 19 März 2016 02:16)

    I love the simple monochromatic color scheme you've chosen. It's a wonderful CAS card! I'm not happy that you had to make a sympathy card, but I'm glad you've shared it with us at CC&S.

  • #5

    Louise (Sonntag, 20 März 2016 12:51)

    Beautiful card, perfect take on the sketch. Like the monotone design.Thanks for joining in at CC&S
    Louise xx

  • #6

    Stef Adams (Sonntag, 20 März 2016 23:18)

    Love the sentiment behind how you put your card together. Thanks for joining us at CC&S this last week. Stef x